Five Newcomers for the Third Formula E Season

HONG KONG, 12 September 2016 – The FIA published the official list of drivers who will take part in the third season of the FIA Formula E Championship, which gets underway on October 9 in Hong Kong.

There are five new names that will appear on the entry list at the circuit set-up along the banks of Victoria Harbour: the three-time* FIA WTCC world champion, Jose Maria Lopez, the winner of the 2015 FIA GT World Cup, Maro Engel and the winner of the 2015 FIA F3 European Championship, Felix Rosenqvist. The new team, Panasonic Jaguar Racing will enter the other two new names, Northern Ireland’s Adam Carroll and the New Zealander Mitch Evans. They and 14 other drivers will be lining up to challenge reigning champion, Sebastien Buemi.

“In this, its third season, Formula E boasts a very high calibre driver line-up, combining experience and young talent,” commented FIA President Jean Todt. “This is further proof of the great vitality of this championship which is becoming ever more important on the global motorsport scene, a trend also supported by the fact that five new cities - Hong Kong,

Marrakesh, Brussels, Montreal and New York - are all joining the calendar. Furthermore, the number of constructors continues to increase, coming from the automotive field or in more general terms, the technological sector. Formula E provides a perfect synergy between the two pillars of the FIA’s activities around the world, namely sport and mobility. The series is also an amazing tool for the promotion of a new model of more sustainable mobility, linked to the use of electric vehicles, as well as being a catalyst for the development and transfer of technology from motor sport to road cars, particularly when it comes to batteries.”

Entry List



ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport

Daniel Abt (Germany)

Lucas di Grassi (Brazil)

Andretti Formula E

Antonio Felix da Costa (Portugal)

Robin Frijns (Netherlands)

DS Virgin Racing

Sam Bird (United Kingdom)

Jose Maria Lopez (Argentina)

Faraday Future Dragon Racing

Jerome D’Ambrosio (Belgium)

Loic Duval (France)

Mahindra Racing

Nick Heidfeld (Germany)

Felix Rosenqvist (Sweden)


Nelson Piquet Jr. (Brazil)

Oliver Turvey (United Kingdom)

Panasonic Jaguar Racing

Adam Carroll (United Kingdom)

Mitch Evans (New Zealand)

Renault eDAMS

Sebastien Buemi (Switzerland)

Nico Prost (France)


Ma Qing Hua (China)

Jean-Eric Vergne (France)

Venturi Formula E Team

Maro Engel (Germany)

Stephane Sarrazin (France)

There are 12 different nationalities represented on track, with France (4) and Germany (3) having the highest number. The drivers range in age from 22 (Mitch Evans) to 40 (Stephane Sarrazin).

*2016 title is still provisional, pending FIA approval.
The Formula E car will sport a bold new look for the 2016/17 FIA Formula E Championship, thanks to the introduction of a stunning new front wing.

The new two-tier wing makes the fully-electric single-seater look more aggressive and unlike any other racing car in the world.